Review and Preview 2023/2024

Dear Readers of weird stuff on the internet,

I hope that this, my latest Review and Preview, finds you well. If I wanted to sum up 2023, this would be the result: 26066

That is the combined word count of all literary texts I have published on this site this year, distributed as follows:

  • One part of Ponygirl Vet: 1,319
  • Four doses of Pony Boot Camp, including Part LX for the story’s 10th anniversary: 14,456
  • Two chapters of Skeleton Crew: 10,291

That number makes for a decent novella, but I wished it would have been spread more evenly. Keen eyes may spot that there is no new chapter of Æquinoctium, nor a concluded short story.

So 2024 better get its shit together. The third and final chapter of Skeleton Crew is currently in the making, and I have a short (and this time I do mean short) ponygirl story up my sleeve to bridge the gap. After that I will concentrate on Ponygirl Vet. Only then I might be able to continue the work on Æquinoctium – seems that Denise has to take another one for the team.

Right now ideas for stand-alone stories are piling up, with no chance for me to find time writing them. I am even considering setting up a poll for you all to decide which one shall be put to paper first.

But it’s better like this than the other way round, with no fresh ideas or any vision whither to guide an existing story.

I wish all of you a happy Twenty-twenty-four!

V.

About Venom

Bloke from Central Europe; Petrol Head; Observer of Human Depravity View all posts by Venom

6 responses to “Review and Preview 2023/2024

  • Anonymous

    Can you give the main character of ponygirl boot camp underreins?

  • Anonymous

    As a weirdo reader I very much appreciate all the stories you’ve delighted us with during the past twelve months. More of your fertile imagination put into weird tales is at least one thing to look forward to in 2024!

    All the best!
    Cheers, Absolutist

  • Anonymous

    As a weirdo reader I greatly appreciate your work of the last twelve months and hope to read more of your gifted stories in the upcoming year.
    All the best for 2024!
    Cheers, Absolutist

    • Venom

      Thanks a lot, Absolutist, I will try my very best. My only concern is that 2024 will grant me as little time for it as its waning predecessor.

      It seems you weren’t logged in when commenting, so your comments did not come through automatically. In the case of double posting I normally remove one, but I couldn’t decide between “fertile imagination” and “gifted stories”.

Leave a comment